Picky Eaters!

Raise your hand if you have a child who is a picky eater πŸ™‹πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ, okay we should all be raising our hands! Children are so picky it’s unbearable at times, the same meal day after day. Let me break down both of my children to show you the differences!

This guy my pickiest of both, here is his list of meals or let’s say a break down of his day with food:

Breakfast: French Toast, Pancakes, Waffles, Lucky Charms, Cheerios (Maybe) with a cup of Milk or Orange Juice. Also he gets a vitamin everyday!

Avoids: Eggs, toast, fresh fruits ( he only eats the no sugar Doles fruit), oatmeal, or anything else you try to have him taste!

Lunch: Chicken nuggets, pasta with red sauce, mac and cheese, fruit, apple sauce. That’s it! No sandwiches, etc.

Dinner: Same as lunch (I know insane he’s that picky)

Snacks: okay so here is where we have winners: Goldfish, Cheezits, cookies, Cheetos, fruit, apple sauce. (trust me if he could live off of all of these he would!) he wakes up asking for goldfish!!!

This little guy lets go through his list:

Breakfast, lunch, dinners & snacks everything listed above and whatever is on our (parents) plates lol! Yes I swear he is the total opposite, but he definitely will choose to eat your food on your plate rather than what’s on his!!!

Just an example of how much he eats: last night for dinner he had apple sauce, fruit, a bowl of Mac and cheese, and a bologna and cheese sandwich!!! He’s 2!!! Oh and a cup of milk and orange juice and you know what he says after all of that, “More Please.” How!!!!!

I use this Mealthy app and it has helped me choosing a lot of the meals my husband and I eat during the week and I came across this one meal for kids that hides vegetables I have yet to try:

Another thing I have tried that maybe you can try on your children is a smoothie. I make smoothies a couple times a week with spinach and fruits and try to give it to them in their cup their delicious, but my sons refuse to drink them just because of how they look!!!

Recipe:

1 cup Spinach

1 cup and frozen fruit

1 banana

8 oz water

(Tip: Blend the spinach and water together first, then add the rest and blend)

Does anyone else have picky eaters? How d you get them to eat new foods and varieties? My older son tells me vegetables are gross even his cartoon shows say that how do you out beat a cartoon lol! (Listen here peppa pig stop teaching my son carrots are gross!)

I’ve even gotten to the point that I try to bribe my kids to try new things this gets funny. I’ve told my oldest that if he doesn’t try something he doesn’t get toys or tv. So he tries it and has the most sour face on while eating it. I ask him if it’s good and he shakes his head yes, but when I ask him if he wants more he immediately says, “No!”

My oldest won’t even eat candy, ice cream, any sweets which is good, besides gummies! My youngest will eat all of the above!

I hope this helps some parents realize that you’re not alone and we have to just keep trying to persuade them to eat something new! As they grow older I hear it gets easier, look forward to those years, but enjoying them while their young!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Suzanne b says:

    Good blog. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment